Sarah T.
Stayed: Apr 2017


Loved it! Perfect location. Already planning to return to this private paradise.

Maria Jose B.
Stayed: May 2016

Beautiful Condo and Amazing View!

My husband and I just had a wonderful experience staying in this Condo. The view is just spectacular! beautiful and private; you are definitely hit with the wow factor as soon as you are standing in front of that magnificent view and enjoying the cooling breeze. The condo has absolutely everything you may need for your stay. It truly felt like home away from home. It is extremely cozy, comfortable, right in front of Akumal Bay, in a very serene section, but a couple of minutes away from the main action of Akumal Beach, where people go to swim with the turtles. We stayed for 9 days, and probably six out of those nine days we had the beach to ourselves. You can opt to swim right in front of your condo and enjoy serene privacy, or you can drive approximately 5 minutes to the entrance to swim with the turtles. Response from Whitney was prompt via email, and she and her husband did everything to make our stay at the condo a great experience.

The Wi-Fi signal was strong throughout and we didn’t have any blackouts. There is no conventional cable in the condo, but the main TV has Roku for the premium channels like Netflix, Amazon Instant Video, Hulu Plus, HBO GO, Pandora, etc.; however, you need to already have an account with those services to be able to watch their content through the Roku. I happened to bring my Chromecast which I connected to one of the TV’s HDMI and it worked great; again, the Wi-Fi signal was strong enough to seamlessly cast from my smartphone/laptop to the TV. With the windows open, the tropical breeze flows deliciously throughout the condo and there were only a few nights that we felt the need to turn on the AC in the main area.

There is already drinking water in the Condo which was replenished by the cleaning lady, Letty, whom was wonderful. We procured her services to have our clothes washed a couple of days before our return. She will knock on the door to ask if you would like cleaning service, and it is up to you how often you want it. We asked her to come by on the days we knew we were going to be out all day, and opted out for those days that we wanted to sleep in late and just relax. It was an amazing experience, perfect for romantic getaway and I recommend this condo for anyone that doesn’t have a problem going up the stairs to the third floor. I absolutely assure you that you will love it as much as we did.

Oceanside, California, USA

I’ll just sit right here and have another beer in Mexico!

We listen to all of those songs about Mexico – toes in the sand, drink in our hands, no shoes, no shirts, no problems, wasting away again in Margaritaville… well – THIS is living THE LIFE. All of those songs come true when you stay in this condo! The breathtaking view is enough to engage you for hours on end – either from the professionally decorated living room or from the outside terrace. Laying in the hammock, sipping a delightful beverage – you’ll never want to leave! But there is so much to do & see in Akumal that you won’t want to waste a minute – from snorkeling in the crystal turquoise waters of Half Moon Bay – right out your front door! – to visiting ruins that are a couple of hours away – to engaging with locals in the markets & pueblos up & down the highway – this is the BEST of both worlds – the beaches of Old Mexico plus the charm & fun of a modern resort community. We loved spending afternoons at La Buena Vida on the swings at the bar, or just sitting under a palapa on the private beach with a good book (lots in the condo to borrow). Dinner at La Lunita was just as romantic as it was delicious & the short walk to Que Onda around the corner made it a favorite. Brunches/lunches at Turtle Bay always led to lots of fun & for night life, Playa del Carmen is just a short taxi ride up the road. We were able to visit Tulum ruins, Coba, and Chichen Itza – we’ll have to return to get to Ek Balam, Muyil and Uxmal. Akumal is a great place to use as a base for exploring – the colonial city of Vallodolid is just about an hour away. Whitney is the ultimate host & so helpful in EVERY way – she made us feel like family! Other pluses about the condo – the HUGE pool in the courtyard & the lush garden setting; the THREE terraces; the third floor is NOT as intimidating as it sounds & the views from up there MORE than make up for the climb – plus it’s a good work out for all of those margaritas we were enjoying! We could not have been more comfortable in this condo if it had been our own home. Plush, comfortable beds, everything NEW & UPDATED & decorating that looks like it was done by a professional designer. Having AC was a plus but not needed while we were there. Having a full kitchen was a great asset – if we were too tired from a hard day’s work on the beach, it was easy to heat up leftovers. We love it & you will too! We were just waiting for Kenny Chesney to show up! Can’t wait to return for another big time here! So – we’ll just sit right here… 😉

Stayed: Dec 2015

Carolyn K.

Akumal Awesome!

La Sirena #13 is great and the view is amazing. The balcony is protected and provides shade all day long, it is also very private. Most days we had the beach in front of the condo to ourselves and it was a nice place to hang out under the palapas. Overall the condo was very attractive, comfortable and had everything we needed. I was a little concerned about being on the 3rd floor as my husband has knee problems and we are in our late 60’s, but it was not a problem. The managers were very quick to have someone carry our luggage up and down for us when we arrived and when we left. Being at the north end of Half Moon Bay without a car was not a problem. Akumal Bay was a little too far for us to walk but with cabs and bike rentals available, it was a breeze. The day after our arrival we wanted to stock up on food and beverages, so we took a cab down to the Super Chomak and back. The cab ride was $7 US each way. After the first day we rented bikes for $5/each US per day and the bikes proved to be a nice way to get around. TV and internet worked well and were a nice plus. Whitney was amazing. Very helpful and friendly, always ready with information and whatever you need to make your stay enjoyable. She goes above and beyond to ensure the comfort of her guests.

Recommendations: Que Onda and La Lunita restaurants are within short walk. Both had good food, good drinks and friendly service. La Buena Vida is always a fun place to hang out. My favorite is breakfast or dinner at Lol Ha restaurant (not the beach bar) in Akumal Bay – upscale casual with good food and good service. I enjoyed sitting on the outside deck at breakfast with a mimosa people watching. Super Chomak has beer & wine as well as staples you might need – eggs, small selection of fresh fruits & vegetables, milk, coffee, some frozen meats, lunchmeat, cheese, bread, juice, etc. To save a little bit of $$$ stick with the Mexican brands as the US brands are very expensive. I forgot about this and we paid as much for a bag of Fritos as we did for a 6 pack of beer. Wednesdays & Saturdays there is a small farmers market behind the taxis @ the Arch. Yal Ku Lagoon is a short bike ride or walk from the condo. It was $14/ea US for the day and you get a bracelet that gives you admission for the entire day. We got there when they opened at 9am and snorkeled for a bit then left and went back twice more during the day.

Stayed: Aug 2015

Carmel, California
Incredible stay… just perfect!

Wow on all levels with this condo! The owner communication, location, calm atmosphere, amenities… and oh my goodness, the view! We had such an amazing time at La Sirena… even though we were unlucky enough to get a bit of weather, it was still such a wonderful vacation. We just tried to imagine that the condo was ours and we’d be able to visit whenever we wanted, to combat the sadness we felt to leave this little slice of amazing! We had tons of TV channels to watch and because of the strong WiFi, we also used Netflix (since it was raining pretty good at times- with lightning! Awesome!). The owner also provides a bunch of DVDs and books for your use. The place was kept beautifully clean during our stay with daily cleaning visits from the lovely people who work there, and a very comfortable bed to sleep in. The A/C worked great in both the main living area as well as the bedroom, when we needed it. After the storm, I noticed that it was actually pretty neat that the north end of Half Moon Bay is a little rocky because all the beautiful beaches south of us were covered with tons of seaweed, so the lounging beach at La Sirena was beautifully clean while others were covered in seaweed, which was nice for our last two days. We went snorkeling, and though the weather kicked up some sand into the water, we still saw tons of fish- Cuddle-fish, Needle-fish, Sergent Majors, Blue Tangs, Bluehead Wrasse, Peacock Flounder, Parrot-fish, Trunk-fish, French Angel fish (some of the biggest I’ve ever seen!) Squirrel-fish, and a Southern Ray. Wear reef/water shoes, head out to the sand, then put on your mask/snorkel/fins and head towards the dark spots out in the middle of Half Moon Bay. You’ll find tons of awesome reef-heads out there. We even saw a big ray in the water, right from the condo deck! The pool was lovely when it didn’t look very fun to get into the ocean (rough), and the grounds around the pool are so beautiful and tropical. It’s also really nice to have a shaded pool for when it’s hot mid-day. The kitchen was very well-appointed, with a nice-sized fridge and we cooked breakfast as well as a few dinners for ourselves. The stove is a little different then in the states… be sure to turn the gas knob, then click the button with a little lightning sign on it for a spark. We enjoyed La Buena Vida for lunch, as well as Que Onda for dinner, and we loved Turtle Bay for our last breakfast in Akumal.

We can’t wait to go back!! Just perfect.

Stayed: Jun 2015

Andrea P.
Heaven on Earth!!

This is long overdue! We will be returning to Akumal in a week for our 3rd stay in Whitney’s beautiful condo! La Sirena is a quite small complex at the end of HMB. The complex is beautifully landscaped with a private beach that offers solitude from the bustling Akumal Bay. The water entry here is rocky but the snorkeling is amazing and you still have a nice quite stretch of man made beach all to yourself.

The condo itself is perfection. The view is the best part with huge windows over looking the ocean from the 3rd floor and 3 outdoor patio spaces. Beds are super comfortable, bathrooms clean and spacious and a well appointed kitchen and dining room space. Whitney has great wifi connection, snorkeling gear and plenty of books and movies for guest to use freely. Condo has recently been renovated with a newly improves kitchen and guest bath. Whitney is a pleasure to work with from start to finish and filled with a wealth of information on the area.

I have traveled to several places in Mexico and Akumal remains my favorite. Great place for families with shallow waters, low key vibe and small town feel. Great place to spend your days relaxing on the beach, snorkeling in the bay and enjoy low key meals. Great location for day trips to many local attractions. Could not recommend Akumal and Whitney’s beautiful condo in Enough. It’s definitely become our “Happy place”.

Stayed: Apr 2015

Anna and Ryan D.
Des Moines, IA
Our Best Mexico Vacation Yet

After travelling to Playa del Carmen 4 times, we decided it was time for a change. Although, we enjoyed Playa, we would catch ourselves wondering if there might be a place that would combine what we love about Mexico (e.g.: clear turquoise water, white sand beaches, delicious Mexican and Mayan food, etc.) without sacrificing peace, natural beauty and authenticity of the destination. In other words, we were getting tired of 5th Ave with its pushy sales people, chain restaurants and most of all crowds and noise that are impossible to avoid in Playa.

During one of our trips, we heard Akumal being mentioned as a great snorkeling spot. After doing some research, we thought: “Wow, maybe we finally found the perfect place!” And we were not disappointed, to say the least. Just one hour away from Cancun, Akumal is a hidden gem. Spectacular Half Moon Bay, amazing snorkeling, fascinating wildlife, relaxed friendly atmosphere make this peaceful and secluded destination magical.

I could write a lot more about the charm of Akumal but I should get to the main reason for this review. What played the biggest role in turning our vacation into experience of a lifetime was the gorgeous condo that we stayed at. We loved everything about it!

Whitney was a pleasure to work with. She made booking process seem easy, responded to all of our questions and even provided Welcome Packet filled with valuable tips and information.

On the way to the condo, we stopped by Mega and stocked up on groceries. We cooked dinners in the condo every night and found the kitchen well equipped and even stocked with spices.

Upon arrival to La Sirena, we were greeted by a staff member, who showed us to our condo, helped us with luggage and provided helpful information about the area, amenities, appliances, etc. Every day while we were out and about, the maid came by. Once low, drinking water was refilled right away. No matter who we talked to at La Sirena, they were always friendly and happy to help.

For lunch, we usually went out. Seafood at La Cueva Del Pescador was amazing. La Buena Vida had a neat location, friendly atmosphere and a good selection of tasty food. Lol-Ha was right on the beach and my favorite spot for margaritas. We also spent a couple of days in Xel-Ha that had great buffets (included in price of admission ticket).

For activities, we enjoyed snorkeling at Half Moon Bay, Xel-ha and Yal-ku lagoon. We had unforgettable time and are already counting down days to our next trip!

Stayed: Dec 2014

Amazing location overlooking Half Moon Bay

The condo has a great floor plan that works wonders for people to gather, make dinner together and hang out. The condo was the perfect spot to experience 9 days of relaxation in Akumal and the surrounding Yucatan. The fully stocked kitchen made it super easy to cook meals if we didn’t feel like going out, and the BBQ on the deck let us cook up some whole fish from a nearby supermarket.

Every day the condo was cleaned from top to bottom, and made our stay that much more relaxing.

I would highly recommend staying here, assuming it isn’t already booked! The good places go fast!

Stayed: Feb 2014

Woodland Hills
Beautiful Condo and Very Helpful Owner!

Everything that’s been said about the condo is absolutely true: when you first walk in, the view from the floor-to-ceiling windows will take your breath away; it’s that gorgeous! In the interest of not repeating what’s already been said, I will try to add new information. What made the condo such a pleasant stay for my fiance and I is the attention paid by the owners to the little things. For example, there are ample light switches with many levels of lighting possible–everything from ambient low light to extra bright. There are also screens on every window and door so that you can enjoy the breeze without worry of bugs coming into the condo. In addition, the owners have thoughtfully placed mattress toppers on both beds, so the beds are lusciously comfortable. I had never slept on a mattress topper prior to our stay, and now I don’t know how I’ve been sleeping without one–the bed in the master bedroom is one of the most comfortable beds that I’ve ever slept on! Also, Whitney has generously left extra shampoo, insect repellent, and sunscreen in the bathrooms so that if you forget these things, you can borrow some until you buy your own.

We greatly appreciated the fully-stocked full kitchen with the four-burner stove top. We liked it so much, in fact, that we ate more than half of our meals at home in the condo rather than going out to eat (and anyone can tell you that Akumal has good food). A typical day for us involved snorkeling right in front of the condo in Half Moon Bay, eating a meal in the condo, and repeating as often times as necessary. In my opinion, the snorkeling in Half Moon Bay is superior to that in Akumal Bay as well as Yalku Lagoon. We saw turtles, french angel fish, cowfish, yellowtail damselfish, squid, five gigantic parrotfish traveling in a pack, and a beautiful eagle ray among other oceanlife.

Not only is Whitney’s condo without a doubt the nicest condo we’ve ever had the pleasure of staying in (and given that we always chose to stay in condos while traveling Mexico, we’ve stayed in many, many condos), but Whitney herself is a genuine pleasure to work with. She answered all of my emails in a timely manner and provided lots of helpful information. The next time we plan a trip to Akumal, we will surely stay here. I would say it has all of the comforts of home, but for us, it had much more comfort than our own home could ever provide! Muchas gracias, Whitney!

Stayed: Aug 2013

Knoxville, TN
Really wonderful time!

We stayed over spring break with my mother in-law and 2 sons. The condo is right on the beach and high enough to enjoy the constant breeze that flows from front to back. Hector, at the front desk, was wonderful in giving us tips on local places to dine and guiding us to farmers markets just over the pedestrian walk where fruit and vegetables are picked and then sold the very same day and much cheaper and fresher than any of the groceries. The coral reef at the far end of the bay are amazing and something like you only see on TV. We loved the pool… it was always kept so clean like a a garden oasis with lush palms and ferns above. There is a wonderful little breakfast counter just before the arches that was a blessing for my mother – law who has a shell fish allergy. They serve no shell fish and the breakfast is authentic, amazing and cheap. La Buena Vida was our dinner hang out. The blackened fish is amazing and the kids loved all the activites they could do (tree house, hammocks, wading pool) while mom and dad dine by the ocean. Lucy’s ice cream is a must! The dulche de leche and rum raisin ice cream are so great and we still crave them! The Turtle Bay Cafe is in the same spot as Lucy’s and has wonderful burgers and fish tacos as well as the best mojotios in town. It was so great that most of the locals in this little area that work at the shops and restaurants speak English. I speak very broken Spanish so this was most helpful. The condo complex is very family friendly and welcoming. The daily camista is wonderful and a blessing. Whenever we would run out of water, within minutes Hector would have it replaced. We are looking forward to coming back next year!

Stayed: Apr 2013

Tucson, AZ
Lovely condo!

Just returned from a two week stay in Akumal. The condo was beautiful with the most amazing views of Half Moon Bay. The grounds, pool, and beachfront area are all well maintained by a friendly staff. It is close to some of the best restaurants in the area and a short drive, cycle, or walk to the village of Akumal and Akumal beach, famous for the sea turtles. Mayan ruins, cenotes, fishing, snorkeling, sailing … we did it all! Aileen was very responsive to our needs, often replying within minutes of my emails. I would not hesitate to rent this same condo again. Thanks Aileen, for sharing your slice of paradise!

Stayed: May 2013

Ontario Canada
Love it there!

Took our two teenagers for March Break. Had no problems with a rental car. Stopped at Costco before leaving Cancun and arrived late afternoon fully loaded and ready for R&R. The condo staff were friendly and the condo was perfect…just as I remembered it. The kids loved it as much as we did on our first trip. For “high” season, it certainly wasn’t very busy. The weather was warm but with some crazy winds! We had only one day of light rain which didn’t slow us down, just sent us out exploring the region. Spent a couple of days at some public beaches in Tulum-great walking on them! Had a great lunch in a great spot on the 307 (can’t remember the name, but the food was wonderful). Toured the ruins in both Tulum and Coba. Kids enjoyed the Cenotes too. We went early mornings and were home for lunch when the crowds started. But really, the best snorkeling was right out front of the condo. Spent several afternoons on the beach in Akumal and saw lots of sea turtles there.

Again, our experience was very positive, and Whitney is just wonderful to deal with. Can’t wait to go back….

Stayed: Mar 2013